In printing, up is a measure of the number of impressions that can be made from a single printing plate in a press run. Up also is used to calculate the cost per thousand (CPM) of an ad or mailing piece. The larger the up, the lower the CPM.
To calculate the up, divide the total number of impressions in the press run by the number of printing plates used. For example, if a press run consists of 10,000 impressions and four printing plates are used, the up would be 2,500.
The up is important because it determines how many impressions can be made from a single printing plate. The larger the up, the more efficient the printing process and the lower the cost per thousand (CPM) of an ad or mailing piece.
To calculate the CPM, divide the total cost of the printing job by the up. For example, if the total cost of the printing job is $1,000 and the up is 2,500, the CPM would be $0.40.
The term Up also refers to the size of a printing job. For example, a print shop may charge $500 for a print job that is 50 Up. This means that the print job will require 50 printing plates, each of which can be used to print one copy of the document. The print shop will then charge $10 per thousand copies for the job, so the total cost of the job will be $5,500.
The film Up is a highly influential work that has had a profound impact on the printing industry. The film’s unique and innovative use of color and design has inspired a new generation of printers and has helped to redefine the standards by which prints are judged. Up has also helped to popularize the use of digital printing technology, which has revolutionized the printing process and made it more accessible to a wider range of people.